Getting the Garden Ready for Fall


Well the Texas heat has fried all my plants except the bell peppers which are still hanging on. The red bell pepper plant may even give me a little pepper here in the next few weeks. However, the squash and the tomato plants have kicked the bucket and I’m trying desperately to baby my rosemary plant so that it’ll keep putting out that wonderful aroma that helps keep the mosquitoes away. However in the next week or so it is supposed to start cooling off so that the highs are in the 90’s as opposed to the 100’s. Goodness I cannot wait for those days to get here.

So since I finally finished my end of term research paper on Saturday night, I took some time on Sunday to play. So instead of doing chores or gearing up for the fall semester I decided to go outside and have a little messy fun. I started by pulling up the dead remnants of the squash plants and putting them in a pile which I will later use when I make a little compost pile. I then used a claw tool that my boyfriend’s mom gave us to “till” up the soil and break up and dirt clumps.

The Garden Claw

Fortunately my garden area is not to big or this would have taken forever. After it was all tilled up I watered the dirt a little and then tilled it again so that the moisture would get down deep in the soil. I fertilized the area back in June so I didn’t add anything to the soil this time.

I then planted two rows of carrots, a row of lettuce, and a row of black beans. I also transplanted the little spinach seedlings that I had been growing in an egg carton outside. The nice thing about using the cardboard egg cartons for seedlings is that by the time the seedlings are ready to go in the ground the carton is a little mushy so you can tear it apart and keep the root disturbance to a minimum.

All of my plants I’ve chosen for fall are new to my gardening experience. I’m excited to try them and hopefully they will do well.

Another reason I was so vigilant about tilling and turning over the soil was for the carrots. I wanted to make sure they had nice soft soil to grow in so they didn’t get split root and turn into franken-carrots.

They will probably still taste good, but they certainly won’t look very pretty if this happens. This is also why you should go ahead and plant the seeds in the ground as opposed to doing seedlings.

Has anyone grown any of these veggies before and have any advice from their experiences?

4 thoughts on “Getting the Garden Ready for Fall

  1. I’m sorry Texas fried your other veggies. I hope you have better luck with the next set. Half of mine got eaten by slugs – yuck. I’m still hanging on to the green beans and I’ve replanted the cucumber- fingers crossed.

    • Holy cow! It’s that hot in Texas? Here on the east coast has been one of the hottest sunmers on record. I can’t imagine. Plus, Texas is famous for humidity as well so your 100* weather is miserable. Holy thunder. Sorry to hear that about your babies. Hopefully, you get some peppers!

  2. Hi Jenny – I’m a fan of chard and kale for the winter garden. Kale will grow all winter – some say it gets sweeter with a bit of snow on it. Chard will collapse with snow / freezing weather but if trimmed may grow back from the roots (for those of us in zone 7 and warmer).

Leave a Reply

