I Finally Finished My Quilt


A few days ago I decided I needed a break from all the hustle and bustle of work and school so I plopped myself down in front of the TV, turned on Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, and worked on finishing hand stitching of the binding on my quilt.

It was actually quite nice to just relax and do something fun. I need to do this more often. Star Trek and Sewing put together equal a pretty close to perfect afternoon as far as I’m concerned.

Here is the finished product…

The Front View

This is my first big sewing project since high school which was six years ago.  I was at Wal-Mart back in March and saw this package in the bargain bin for $15.  It came with all the fabric for the front and instructions which was perfect for me since I was just getting back into sewing.

The Back View

I had quite a bit of fabric left over after putting together the front but not enough for a solid piece so I took a page out of the book of the lovely lady over at Obsessively Stitching for the backing. Check her out, she has some nice tutorials.

I then sandwiched it all together and had my first exercise in free motion quilting. I did pretty good for a first timer, but ended up with two spots where it got puckered. Next time I’ll have to find a spray similar to what Cassandra used at Hands, Heart, Passion to hold all the pieces together.

All in all it was a lot of fun and quite relaxing. Plus my couch now has a nice quilt to drape over it that actually matches my living room. You can see the pink, blue, and white quilt that was the previous blanket on my couch in the far right of the pictures.

Anyone else working on or just finish some big projects?

8 thoughts on “I Finally Finished My Quilt

    • Thanks! Since I’ve started sewing again I actually find it relaxing.

      If you do decide you want to give it a try I defiantly suggest taking a beginners class. It was invaluable because they taught us about all the basics I had no idea were important.

  1. My biggest project right now is my Halloween costume(s), I think. I’m also plotting a duvet cover for a friend. I’m impressed that you hand stitched your quilt binding; I couldn’t have done it. Not sure if I’ll ever make a quilt, but I can appreciate yours!

    • I saw your post on your Halloween costume. I like the lacy sleeves. It seems like that would be a hard “fabric” to work with but they’ve turned out nice. : )

  2. Well done on finishing your beautiful quilt!! You’re totally ahead of me, I still haven’t done my binding! It’s a fabulous feeling to have made something so perfect for your house and style, isn’t it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

