Baked Beef Taquitos


I love Mexican food and Mexican food inspired dishes so when someone started rattling off a recipe for Baked Beef Taquitos I did my best to remember every word she said. This recipe comes from a customer at my previous job and it is super delicious and easy.

Baked Beef Taquitos

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of ground beef (I used 90% lean)
  • 1 bell pepper chopped (I used a Yellow one because I like the flavor)
  • 1/2 cup of chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup of salsa
  • corn tortillas
  • olive oil cooking spray
  • 1/2 avocado (optional)
  • Sour Cream (optional)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat Oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. 
  2. Brown the beef and drain any grease. 
  3. After draining the grease add the chopped bell pepper, chopped onion, and salsa to the meat and cook until the onions and peppers become soft.
     
  4. Fill the tortillas with the meat mixture, roll them up, and place them on a baking sheet greased with olive oil cooking spray. Note: I microwave the tortillas for 45 -60 sec on a plate with a damp paper towel before filling so that the tortillas don’t break open when I roll them. 
  5. Spray them gently with the olive oil cooking spray so that they brown nicely. Note: I totally forgot this step until they were already in the oven so I skipped it. 
  6. Cook for 10 minutes or until they are crispy and start to brown. 
  7. Once cool, top with sour cream and chopped avocado.

I served mine with corn on the cob and they were pretty good. So much better than the frozen kind and much healthier too. I made eight taquitos because I only wanted to make as many as we wanted for dinner so there was quite a bit of meat mixture left. I would estimate that you could make about 20 taquitos with this recipe. I plan on using the rest for taco salads tonight.

4 thoughts on “Baked Beef Taquitos

Leave a Reply

